CORONAVIRUS: Latest updates here. Our 100% buyer guarantee applies to future purchases too!

Phantom Of The Opera Reviews

Broadway ShowsMusicalsTony WinnersValentines DayCritics Picks

Average customer review: 4.0 star rating (4.2 Stars)

Number of reviews: 296

Page:12345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728293031323334353637383940414243All

Sort:

5.0 star rating Mike from Asheville , NC USA

THE BEST SHOW ON EARTH

This is the best broadway you will ever see in your life...was into the show the whole time.

5.0 star rating Nicole from OH

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!

I am 35, visited NY for the first time and being a fan of the 1943 version of Phantom of the opera I HAD to see the broadway version. At first I wasn't thrilled because it vered from the 1943 version quite a bit.. but after only a short time, it captured me. It showed the more romantic side vs the HORROR side. I cried twice because it was so wonderful and aspiring! I wish I could have seen it again the next day. Even my husband enjoyed it. The actors and actresses had amazing voices. There were several teenagers in the theater as well and I thought they would be yaking through the show, but the theater was so quite as EVERYONE was captured by the experience. No wonder it is the longest playing broadway show EVER. 18 Years and still running a sold out show every time.

5.0 star rating Danielle from San Jose, CA USA

INSANE

The Phantom of the Opera was probably one of the most AMAZING shows I've ever seen on Broadway. It's a battle between this and Wicked. the voices were so amazing and many of my friends who saw it were blown away as well. A stunning performance, I must say.

5.0 star rating Cheri from Columbia, South Carolina

OUTSTANDING

I would highly recommend this Opera for anyone who loves music. This opera was extremely well done and well performed. Bravo to the actors. Words cannot express how outstanding this Opera is. Even my daughter loved it and wants to see it again.

5.0 star rating JAMIE TRIPOLI from STATEN ISLAND

GREAT PERFORMANCE

MY FAMILY SAW THE SHOW ON 4-17-06. THEY WERE SEATED FRONT ROW CENTER SEATS 101--106. MY 4 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS ON THE EDGE OF HER SEAT THE WHOLE ENTIRE PLAY. HER NAME IS CARLINA & SHE WATCHES THE DVD PHANTOM OF THE OPERA EVERY DAY WITHOUT FAIL. I WOULD LIKE TO SAY TY TO ALL FOR MAKING HER FEEL LIKE SHE WAS THE ONLY PERSON THERE. IT HAS BEEN ALL SHE HAS SPOKEN OF SINCE SHE AWOKE THIS MORNING. PHANTOM SO SHE SAYS BLEW HER A KISS.....CHRISTINE WAVED TO HER WITH 1 FINGER BEHIND THE PHANTOM....RAUL SIGNED HER BOOK.. THE POLICE OFFICER SPOKE WITH HER & TOLD HER SHE WAS AS BEAUTIFUL AS CHRISTINE..CARLINA IS ON TOP OF THE WORLD ..SHE HAS BEEN TELLING ALLABOUT HER PHANTOM OF THE OPERA EXPERIENCE....A FRIEND OF MINE HER BROTHER IS EMPLOYED THERE & HE SET EVERYTHING UP FOR US . I'M INTERESTED IN ENROLLING INTO HER SOME SORT OF DRAMA PROGRAM BUT I AM CLUELESS AS TO WHERE TO BEGIN. IF THERE IS ANYTHING THAT YOU CAN HELP ME WITH IT WOULD BE GREAT. TY JAMIE TRIPOLI

5.0 star rating Anne Catherick from Newport Rhode Island.

BEAUTIFUL SCORE

Andrew Lloyd Webbers, phantom of the opera, which is now the longest show in broadway history, is faboulus. On January 9, 2006, made they're 7,486th performance on Broadway. This is my favorite show in the world. I've seen this show about three times. I can't wait to go see it again. I wish I saw their 7,486th performance. Michael Crawford, the original Phantom, was there. This is a beautiful show to look at. Believe me. This was my first live show. I saw this show when I was five years old. I'm now 15 and I want to go see it again. I think when I get older I'm thinking that I want to go be in it. This is the most beauitful show you should also go see this. Beauitful.

5.0 star rating Penny Ellis from St. Johnsbury VT.

OUTSTANDING!!!

We saw Phantom on April 18th, and it was one of the most memorable shows I've ever seen. Everything was expertly executed. The storyline was wonderful and the actors brought it to life. There was not one thing about the performance that was lacking in any way. the only downfall of the entire evening was when the actors spent so long asking for donations during the curtain call. I felt this was very inappropriate. Other than that, everything was great!

5.0 star rating Brian O\'Shaughnessy from Newark, DE USA

THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA IS THE KING OF BROADWAY

The best Show on Broadway a 5 star show With the best music!

5.0 star rating A Phan from NYC

PHANTASTIC!!

The Phantom of the Opera is, without a doubt my very favorite musical. The show is absolutely timeless. The sets and the costumes are incredible. But the music...the music is the most beautiful thing about this show. (in my opinion!) The songs are haunting and you will be whistling them for days afterwards. The entire show is a spectacular spectacle that you must see at least once in your lifetime. Let yourself fall captive and let the Phantom show you the power and the passion of the Music of the Night.

5.0 star rating Sean Lewis from Hacienda Heights California, USA

O.G. F. (OPERA GHOST FAN)

The Phantom of the Opera is the best show in broadway. 18 years in broadway history is a long time and the show is still popular. Howard Mcgillin, brad little, John Owen Jones, and Michael Crawford are the greatest. This show is a great start to enjoy the musical world. Its something you will never forget. There is nothing like it. Trust me you will fall in love with the show and music.

5.0 star rating Lori from California, MD

ONE OF THE BEST SHOWS EVER!!!

I saw The Phantom of the Opera in NYC May 27th 2006... I enjoyed everything about it. It was the best show Ive ever seen. The music, the actors, everything about it was awesome! I loved it so much, I downloaded the soundtrack from the London cast and I bought the movie. I recommend everyone seeing this show if you havent already!

5.0 star rating Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555

THE BEST SHOW EVER!!!

I fell in love with the phamtom... He has the most beautiful voice I've ever heard. The show alltogether was just totally awesome.. I cried at the end of the show. We're from Australia and we are going back to New York to see the show again next year, so I hope it'll still be showing with the same casts then.

5.0 star rating Mike & Karen from Dakota, MN

AMAZING/WONDERFUL

My wife and I took our 4 children, ages 12, 10, 9 (our daughters birthday present) and 6, We have been watching the video often. The show was one of the highlights of our trips to New York City. We will never forget the superb perfomance. The children enjoyed the show as much as we did. I highly recommend this as part of your visit to the city.

5.0 star rating Jennifer Dulo from Roebling, NJ USA

JE T'AIME LE FANTOME DE L'OPERA.

Okay. I wish I had more than 1000 characters to describe this amazing musical. I've loved The Phantom of the Opera for about two years now, have seen it twice, and intend on seeing it at least twice more, but probably lots more then. This is the most beautiful story in the whole history of time, ranking with stories like Notre-Dame a Paris, and Les Miserables. This story, about a man who loves a woman so fully but is rejected her love because of a physical deformity, is a story about all of us. Because, as Gerard Butler, who played Phantom in the 2004 movie once said, "I think the Phantom is such a powerful story because I think a lot of people think that, deep down, that if they were to open up to the world, that it would find them repulsive, and ugly." There is a Phantom in all of us, and I am so happy that this musical can show us this. I have dedicated my life to this story, to this musical. And if you don't cry when seeing it, then you have no heart.

5.0 star rating Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555

PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

Phantom of the opera is an amazing breathtaking thrilling and romantic musical about a young woman (Christine Daae) who is taking lessons from the theatres phantom. I would hihgly recomend this show for anyone who loves the whole idea of beauty and the beast this is definately a show that you could take you children to they will love it and so will you. Also there are many great resturaunts and gift shops near by the theatre i would definately give this broadway 10 gold stars Enjoy the show!

5.0 star rating Nikkita from USA

PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

Andrew Lloyd Webber is a pure genious! Phantom of the opera is an amazing breathtaking and thrilling show for the whole family. I would highly recomend this as a must see if you are living or visiting in New York. And just to add on to this amazing dream there are wonderfull resturaunts, Gift shops, And hotels near by the theatre and it is in the heart of times Square. I myself have seen it over 100 times and it has not disappointed me yet and i am only 13. If you like the whole concept of beauty and the beast you willl love this romantic broadway miracle it is Phanominal! 500 gold stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5.0 star rating Heather from Augusta, Georgia USA

FANTASTIC :]

The Phantom of the Opera on Broadway is so awesome! I thought the movie was good, this totally beats it. My favorite scene in the play was when they were singing the Phantom of the Opera on the lake and the fog looked SO COOL. Maybe one day I will be playing Christine, it's my dream :) Who knows? But for now, great job Andrew Lloyd Webber for creating this, what would I do without it?

5.0 star rating Michelle konopka from usa

I LOVE THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

I have never seen the phantom of the opera on broadway,but I will be going to see it for the first time on august 12,2006 in new york. It's my birthday present from a family member and I can't wait to see it..I have the movie and the cd and my children and I listen to the cd every day and watch the movie almost everyday..We can not get enough of the phantom..My 10 yr old daugther had her birthday in may and had a phantom of the opera birthday. Everyone dressed up in all kinds of mask and we enjoyed it alot and played the music all day..

5.0 star rating Alexandra from Bergenfield,NJ USA

PHANTOM OF THE OPERA THE MOST AMAZING SHOW EVER!

I am a 13 year old girl. I fell in love with the phantom of the opera movie so my mom said she would take me as an early bithday present. She got me orchestra seats.I loved the show ! The music was amazing & beautiful! It was a little different from the movie but it was still great.Every Phantom movie lover should see this.The end is great and the definatley deserve to get a standing obvation every time.This will get you to love the phantom even more!

5.0 star rating Kay from Woodbury, TN USA

AWESOME

I took my daughter to NYC last year for her 21st birthday and while there we saw the "Phathom" Not only was it an outstanding performance but the theater was beautiful and we had front row seats. There were times I actually could not breathe due to the fact that it was so exciting. IT is the most fabulous play I have ever attended. I would recommend this show to anyone. You WILL NOT be disappointed.

5.0 star rating Jessica from Matawan,NJ

GREAT

Absolutly Amazing! I love it

5.0 star rating Adam from NY

LOVED IT

This show created my love of theater. I have seen it twice so far and listen to the soundtrack all the time and cannot get enough of it. The plot is beautifully complex. The mechanics, sound, and lighting create a universe onstage. The music reflects clearly on the themes present in every scene. Truly Webber's finest show.

5.0 star rating Alex Gilenson from Israel

THE SHOW THAT MADE MY TRIP

Iwas in the show on July this year. I was visiting NY and USA for the first time of my life, and yes Manhetten and NY it's self made a realy big impression on me, but the best thing happened to me on my last day in the town was the fact that I went to see this show, and to tell you the truth, the show was great, I almost fell in love my self in Cristine becouse of her voice. Great acting, great actors, great music and great voices. If some one is going to NY he/she has to go and see the show. Thank you for making my visit so special.

5.0 star rating Debbie ,amanda,ashley from philadelphia pa. us

THE MOST AMAZING SHOW EVER

we went to see phantom on sept.30,2006 on a bus trip with our dance class and it was an amazing time we ever had the show was filled with amazing surpises we fell in love with all the cast they were great actors & actresses we have ever seen we would love to go see it again.

5.0 star rating Dilkash Ahmed from Vienna, VA

SUPERB!

I saw Phantom of the Opera on Monday night (11/6/06) with my two sons, ages 9 and 12. We enjoyed the show thoroughly. We have been listening to the music a lot recently and so the boys and I already knew most of the lyrics. Howard McGillin's Phantom was outstanding!

5.0 star rating Caroline and JW from Norwich in England

I LIVE IN ENGLAND, AND WENT ALL THE WAY TO NYC TO SEE IT!

On Wednesday 4 October 2006 we arrived early to collect our tickets 1 hour before the show started and had nothing but co-operation and consideration by Lawrence (the front of house Manager?) and all his staff. Thank you very much, your assistance was much appreciated - it was very difficult with JW being partially sighted and not very steady on his feet. The show was absolutely breathtaking, the acting and singing superb, the music lifting - and the orchestra very accommodating by playing some encores after the end of the show! Thank you, you made the night very special! Also Lawrence thank you for organising us getting a cab after the show - that could have been very daunting! I CANNOT SAY THANK YOU ENOUGH TO EVERYBODY WHO MADE OUR VISIT SO MEMORABLE. XXX

5.0 star rating PHANTOM LOVER from NEW JERSEY

[BEST EVER]

This was the best show i have ever seen!!! I saw it a few months ago in January and i couldnt believe how great it was. It is a must see for [EVERYONE]!! The only bad (well it was kinda funny) thing was that the phanotom kept on spitting because of the mask when he sang. Other than this it was breathtaking. The costumes are creative and the seating is great.! I sat in about the 7th or 8th row back in orchestra and everything seemed so real. The show is great for kids too but the beginning might scare some because a spark is set off when the chandaler(i know thats spelled wrong) comes down. Some parts are a bit spooky but the soundtrack, actors, and atmospthere are the best!!! A must see for anyone and any age.

5.0 star rating Betty G. from Metairie, LA USA

AN UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE

While recently visiting NYC, my daughter & I decided to see Phantom. This is our second time. This was a night I am sure we will never forget. The music is enchanting and the cast outstanding. When the school year ends, I would like to take my fourteen year old granddaughter to see the performance. I am sure she will be thrilled. Betty G. Metairie, La.

5.0 star rating Laura from Houston, Tx

I WISH THERE WERE MORE STARS TO GIVE THIS PLAY

I have seen this play about 6 times and I will reach 8 by the end of the month. It is my favorite play. The current cast is wonderful. Howard Mcgillin portrays a bit of an angry Phantom, but yet when he sings Music of the Night he sounds like an angel. Jennifer Hope Wills adds a youthful twist to Christine. She can hold her high notes very well. Her eyes are full of passion. Think of Me has never sounded better. Michael Shawn Lewis, my all time favorite Raoul, is still wonderful. His lines in the auction scene are so heartfelt and moving. All I Ask of You has so much love in it. I recommend going to the stage door after the play. Just turn right when you leave the theater, turn right on the first street. Wall to 45th and turn right. Go to the two big grey doors after the Milford and wait. The actors are so nice. Some children may be frightened at this performance, because of the way Howard plays the role...and the lights and loud music. So don't take a kid that cries during movies.

5.0 star rating The Carmichaels from Edinburgh, Scotland

COLIN & DENISE

We have seen the Phantom twice in London / Edinburgh and love it......so much we even used the music at our wedding! The story line moves along at a good pace and the music is powerful. It's just a class above, and we're looking forward to seeing it in NY February 2007 - hope its as good as the UK shows.

5.0 star rating Billy and Jacqueline Thomson from Scotland, U.K.

PHANTASTICAL!!!!!!!

My husband and I along with our family who live in the States went to see this production last Saturday. We were totally enraptured by the whole production. The special effects were amazing, the performances outstanding and the costumes spectacular. Doubt if we will ever experience anything better!

5.0 star rating Melissa from CT, USA

PHANTASTIC!!!!

I have always loved the music to Phantom, and I had seen the movie a billion times, so it wasn't till my 18th birthday when i got to go see it on Broadway with 3rd Row Seats. Now you don't have to see Phantom from the orchestra seating to love it. Not only were the performers excellent, but the orchestra, and the costumes were incredible. Overall, I would highly reccommend this play to anyone at any age. It was so beautiful, and 2 days later I am still in awe.

5.0 star rating Colin from Vestal, NY USA

WOW

I had always heard the music of Phantom, but when I saw the performance last year, I was amazed! All parts of the show came together wonderously, and everything was amazing. The cast is to be commended for a great job, and keep up the good work!

5.0 star rating Scott from Branson

A MUST SEE

My wife and I just returned from New York and I have to tell you this show is a must see , even for the big burley guys like me. It made me see a different side of my own relationship. I truley must say that show was the best I have seen. McGillin as the Phantom is a perfect match. I will see it again soon. The live music was outstanding !!!

5.0 star rating Dana from Long Island

YOU HAVE TO GO!!

I have been to Phantom twice now. I just took my 17 year old son. We just love the music. We have seen the movie as well. This play is very romantic and enchanting! The performers are wonderful and full of energy! The costumes are so amazing and full of color. I have sat 3 rows from the orchestra, and have sat up on the 3rd level. The sound is so incredible. If you ever saw the movie, you will love the show. Young children may be scared of the Phantom. Take caution when bringing a child, who scares easily. I would go again in a heartbeat!

5.0 star rating Tom Wijnant from Aalst, Belgium

AMAZING!!

What a show! It was a long time ago when I went in Belgium to the Belgian version of 'The Phantom Of The Opera' and then, I enjoyed it. So last week, when we were visting NY, we decided to go to the Broadway version, and well, it was amazing!!! Everybody who goes visiting NY, this is a must-see!! I sat in the orchestra part en the sound was great. And what great voices! I need to give my compliments to Howard McGillin, who plays the Phantom extraordinary! You just hear the anger and the fear in his voice, he plays the Phantom like it should be played. Also the other actors were very impressive. Keep a seat for when I'll come back!! Because I have never seen such a show, such beautifull decors and such good actors, this deserves 5/5! Tom

5.0 star rating Victoria traczykowski from england

AMAZING

i have seen this show in many places,london,manchester etc. i have seen the film and have the sound track. when i was in new york i had the chance to finally see it on broadway and it was magical. the special effects and the scenery were a show all on their own. the actors made their characters come alive. my husband came along with,under duress i must say, he has never seen a musical in his life,he always leaves the house when ever i put one on but from the minute the curtain went up to the minute it went down he never took his eyes off the stage. for him to do that shows how amazing this show was. job well done.

5.0 star rating Miss L Greer from Rostrevor, N Ireland

MY FIRST TIME IN NEW YORK

As i was in NY for my first time in Dec 06, we decided tht it would be great to see a show on Broadway. We were recomended The phantom at the Majestic theatre. We had fantastic seats for only $55. Thw show was amazing, it took me on an emotional rollercoaster. The performances were outstanding. If i am every in NY again i will defo be going back to the Majestic....Bravo to all the cast and crew. Thank you for a great experience. I wish you all the best. Lots of love from Northern Ireland xx

5.0 star rating JESSICA B from STRATFORD,CT USA

PHANTOM OF THE OPHRA

I GO TO SECOND HILL LANE ELEMANTRY SCHOOL ARE SIXTH GRADE CLASS WENT TO NEW YORK TO SEE THE SHO IT WAS AMAZING WE WERE JUST SO AMAZED I WOULD RECAMED TO SEE THE SHOW

5.0 star rating Charity from Georgetown, KY USA

IT WAS AMAZING!!!!!!

I went to New York for the first time with my freshmen class in summer '06 and we saw the show. IT WAS AMAZING!!! I had never seen anything of "The Phantom of the Opera" prior to the show. But that Sunday when I got back home, I went and bought the 2004 movie, a week later I got the movie soundtrack, and then a week after that I got the special edition CD. I even read the book! I would recommend this show to anyone who is visting New York. My seats were in the very last row on the balcony and I still enjoyed the show!!! I give "The Phantom of the Opera" five stars!!!

5.0 star rating Joseph from Stroudsburg, PA USA

AMAZING

I went to see the show this week in New York. When I first got in the theater I knew that it was going to be outstanding. The show was amazing, I have never seen anything better in my life. The lighting, the costumes, and the sets were amazing, and the music there was no words for. I loved the special effects, a lot of them were very thrilling and a lot of them scared me. It was very cool to see this going on in front of you. I Had 4th row seats and an amazing view, but I am sure throughout the whole theater you can see perfect. I think this is a great show to see if you are in New York. I would take children over the age of 8 if they were interested, but children under that age might not be interested at all, and they might get scared. I found a great restaurant right across the street from the theater. If anyone is in New York and wants to see an amazing show see The Phantom of the Opera.

5.0 star rating Karrie from Copley, Ohio

MOST AMAZING MUSICAL EVER

After seeing the movie 5000 times, i expected the best from the live show and it definatley delivered! great event for a night out and get a great Broadway experience. I had seats in row BB which was right up front by the stage and right by the pit! Amazing! I would take my whole family to the show but i enjoyed it more on my own. Centerstage Cafe was a great resturaunt near by and i would reccomend this to anyone! Great show, great actors, amazing vocals! My friends and i were really impressed. Would see it again anytime!

5.0 star rating Jess from Massachusetts

AMAZING PERFORMANCE!

I saw the show just yesterday in New York and I'll just put simply that it was a very convincing and exciting performance. I honestly didn't think I was going to enjoy the play, but I ended up loving it.

5.0 star rating Diana from Chicago, IL USA

BEST MUSICAL EVER.

Phantom of the opera is the best musical to ever hit the broadway stage. From the first word I was captivied by the whole thing. The characters, the plotline, the set, and most importantly, the MUSIC. This is by far Andrew Lloyd Webber's most ingenius creation, and if you are in London, Las Vegas or NYC, you are making the biggest mistake of your life not to see it. I've seen it four times live, and everytime is a whole new expierence in itself. I had great seats both times in NYC [other times were in London and Vegas]. I wouldn't take children under 5 years to see the show. Some parts a little dark, not very but a little. Kids 8 and under, it might just go over their heads. This is the best show on broadway, and everyone should see it at least once in their lifetime! It's absolutely fantastic!!!

5.0 star rating Brian from Edison, NJ USA

THE BEST SHOW ON BROADWAY

This is truly the best play I have ever seen and will see! The actors are magnificent. Their voices are so strong and powerful, yet delicate and perfect all at the same time. The seats of the rear mezzanine were spectacular. I sat in the front row, and I was absolutely pleased! I would take anyone who wanted to see this to this utterly magical play. This play is beyond worth-wild to see! It would be the great start to a magical, romantic evening with a lover, family, or friends. This will definately be the talk of the town for weeks! I shall never forget the evening I went to see this mysteriously romantic opera. It was truly a night I will remember for the rest of my life. Go see it as soon as possible for a night to remember!

5.0 star rating James Brackett from Santa Barbara, CA, USA

PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

My wife and I have attended this show four years running at the Majestic Theaterm in NYC. Each time we have attended, we have enjoyed the show, even though we have continuously been moved further and further back during the matinees. We will return this year in July and again, attend the show, perhaps spending the extra money to get nearer to the stage or again taking our chances with the discount ticketing. I have never enjoyed a show as much as Phantom of the Opera. The music, the singing, the scenery, it all seems so real. I've seen every deviation of the Phantom of the Opera, having been a fan of the story before this show was written, and this was written, directed and produced by Masters. I just hope this year when we attend in July we can be up close and real.

5.0 star rating N/A from Ma.

A BROADWAY THRILLER

I saw the show for my birthday, and it was the best present I have ever gotten. The cast and crew are great with making the show so powerful. The sets are to die for. We got seats from Tix booth and we could see everything. Phantom is a show for everyone!

5.0 star rating SARAH from Boston,MA USA

AWESUMM!!

i loved it i went to this play on a schol trip and i thougth it was amazing wi ant to see it agian!

5.0 star rating Stefanie from New York, NY

BEST BROADWAY SHOW BY FAR

I asked my parents for tickets to PotO for my tenth birthday, after receiving "The Best of Andrew Lloyd Weber" CD as a Christmas gift and falling in love with the music, specifically Music of the Night. I am now 21, and have seen Phantom of the Opera every year for my birthday since then, as well as other special occasions. I have seen other musicals, most of the critically acclaimed ones, and to date, none have ever come close to the emotional attachment I have to Phantom. I learned something new, caught something different, every time I saw it. I find myself quietly singing along. The sets are amazing, the theatre itself is amazing, and the music is unforgettable. If you haven't seen Phantom yet, you are missing out. This play is brilliant, timeless, and stunning. Hands down the best musical ever, and the best Broadway show ever. Do yourself a favor and get tickets, you will be so happy. It is a truly magical experience for patrons of all ages.

5.0 star rating Juan Carlos from Staten Island, NY

THE BEST ON BROADWAY

I have not seen much of what Broadway has to offer, but not much will be able to compare itself to the greatness of Phantom. Once I heard "Phantom of the Opera", I was in love. Cant wait to see it again.

5.0 star rating Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555

THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA IS THE BEST!!!

The Phantom of the Opera is the best show ever. Between the sights, sounds, lighting, actors, and music, it was great. This show is one of the shows that you can go and see over and over agian. I can go on and on about it but, I can't. But the coolest part was the ending. How did they get him off of the stage in that chair in the middle of the stage? The world may never know.

5.0 star rating Phantom Fan from Staten Island, NY

ONLY A TEEN WHEN I SAW IT BUT, WOW!!!!

I saw the Phantom of the Opera back in 1992 when I was only 14 years old. It was the first time I ever saw a Broadway show and figured it was going to be boring, after all I was a teenager. Boy was I wrong! The play itself was great, but the music absolutely blew me away. I never thought an organ could make such incredible sounds. The composer should receive a medal for it. The songs themselves were also sensational. So when you put the great story, the incredible music, and those mind blowing organ sounds together, you equal up to one of the best nights you'll ever spend in the city. At least that's what I think. When I realized it's been 15 years since I first saw it, I decided I'd better see it again very soon. I'd be mortified if it came to an end and I didn't get a chance to go back, so before that happens, I'll be there. If you are looking to bring a special someone to see a Broadway play, I recommend The Phantom of the Opera hands down. You will not be sorry.

5.0 star rating L Bate from Manchester England

WOW AMAZING

We went to New York for the first time as a special birthday celebration from England. It was the first time my husband has seen a musical and we were both blow away by Phantom. The special effects were amazing, the boat, the lights.The singing, acting of the cast and Howard McGill was excellent as were the other members of the show.When Howard Mc Gill spoke at the end of the show to do some fund raising he was so friendly. The whole cast made the experience special especially as the show has been running for a long time. We think they were wonderful had a brilliant time and it was well worth the trip to the theatre despite the rain.Fantastic story and songs.The music lived on in our memory for days after. Wonderful memory of New York.We will go back to Broadway one day.I have been to the West End but this was much better!! Great seats.Well done, you guys are doing a fantasic job.Thank you!!!

5.0 star rating Juliana from Colorado

PHANTOM WALKS ON WATER

The cast and crew of the London production of Phantom are professionals with one goal in mind, and that is to entertain and impress even the avid theatre-goer. Never have I been so pleased to sit through a musical as I sat and watched this eye-candy of costumes, music, and theatrics. This play must be seen by old and young alike and you'll want to see it more than once. It is the kind of theatre that draws you back again and again to witness the spectacle of theatre magic. I left the theatre with my friends, dizzy with enthusiasm, giddy with songs in my head, excited to talk about what I had seen and heard. The direction, acting, and singing well exceeded my hopes and dreams. This is what theatre was meant to be, this is what playwrights work so hard for, to make the audience leave the theatre walking on air believing they have just seen something phenomenal.

5.0 star rating Samantha Picerno from Southern Pines, North Carolina

THE BEST PLAY EVER!!!!!!

My fiance and I went with my parents to New York to see Phantom of the Opera Dec 4! It was absolutely incredible! We were sitting in the Orchestra seats in row E right in the middle and they were amazing seats! I would seriously recommend sitting near the front if you can, when the Chandelier falls it looks like it may fall right on you! But the Phantom did a Phantastic job!!!! He showed so much emotion and did such a wonderful job singing! Christine and Raoul did amazing as well! The whole cast did a great job! The managers were hillarious and so was Carlotta and her husband! And Madame Giry was almost scary! But the only person that didn't do amazing was Meg who I couldn't hear very well but she still did okay! This was definately the best play on Broadway and I don't think anyone, especially a Phantom fan, should even go without seeing this show! God Bless!

5.0 star rating Ashley from Louisville, KY USA

THE GREATEST PLAY I'VE EVER SEEN =]

My fiancee and I saw the tour in Louisville and it was without a doubt the greatest play I have ever seen. There was not an empty seat in the whole theater. The theatrical affects throughout the whol production was surprising and also brought out the illuison of the story much more. We have already decided to attend the production next year.

5.0 star rating Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555

GREAT

perfect

5.0 star rating Henrik Michaelsen from Denmark, Copenhagen

MARVELOUS

On the 4 th of feb. my wife and i came all the way from denmark just for this show and we enjoyed every moment of it especially the ghost, what a wonderfull singer/actor. I can highly recommend it.

5.0 star rating Logan Kelly from Sunrise, FL USA

PHANTOM LIVES!!!!!!!!!!

" The Phantom of The Opera " Is one of The Best Musical's of All Time!!!!! It Well, diserve's to Be The Logest running show, & I can see why it is. I sat in the seond to The last row of The Rear Mennzien: And Still loved It!!!!!!!!

5.0 star rating Claire Pepper from Perth Western Australia

CLAIRE & PETER'S FROM PERTH WA BROADWAY EXPERIENCE

I had to wait until I was 48 and my partner Peter was 58 to attend a broadway show when we recently visited New York - we were so glad we chose The Phantom of the Opera. I was totally speechless with the breathtaking performance and the endless talent of the artists. I cried for the whole last scene - please pass my congratulations and sincerest thanks to the performers for a fantastic performance that we shall remember all our lives - your theatre was magnificent, the scenery and props were unbelievable and I get goosebumps every time I listen to the music from the Phantom. We will return to Broadway one day I am sure - thank you once again for broadening our lives with your wonderful talents. Encore!

5.0 star rating Danielle from Riverside, NJ

AMAZING!

Saw the Phantom of the Opera on Saturday 3-29 and it was amazing. There was so much to look at I think that I need to go see it again to catch everything that I missed! Would highly recommend this to anybody!

5.0 star rating Arax from Los Angeles, CA

WORTH EVERY PENNY

Once my friend found out i was traveling to New York, he suggested that i go see the Phantom of the Opera. I am so glad i did. It was an experience that i will remember for the rest of my life. Amazing cast, beautiful performers - truly majestic. Worth every penny.......

5.0 star rating Jude from scotland uk

PHANTASTIC!!!!!

We went to see the show on mon 24th march & as a serious phantom fan i do have high expectations of the musical, I was not dissapointed, Mc Gillan was everything the phantom should be and more!! he displayed the passion, anguish & vulnerability of the phantom, you have to love him. what a voice he was born for this role! All the cast were terrific & i sobbed my way through the end of the show! wish lord webber would one day give us the ending we so wish... The ages of our party were 12, 36, 57, & 69 and we all loved it as it has variety for everyone: comedy, music, romance, special effects, passion & drama. was amazing for a show which has been running for 20 years on broadway & west end to still have standing ovations every night. bravo. I do have one regret though, I so wish I had seen it a few more times, never mind always an excuse to go back. well worth travelling 3,600 miles for!! enjoy every minute.

5.0 star rating Lauryn Torina from Detroit ,MI

THE BEST MUSICAL EVER TO GRACE BROADWAY!

The title says it all. Thius musical is and always will be my favorite by far! It has everything I look for, great music dancing and plot. I love it because it isnt your average musical where everyone is happy and busrts into song. It it has a darker, edgier twist to it, and is amazing!!!! I absolutely love it and I always always ALWAYS will!

5.0 star rating Toni Haigler from Brooklyn, New York

MYSTERY, TRAGEDY, COMEDY!

What a beautiful musical! Three of us saw Phantom on March 8th, 2008. We thoroughly enjoyed it. I have not seen others play The Phantom, but have heard some of their recordings. I must say that Howard McGillin's voice is the finest I've heard sing the part. His acting brought out all of the qualities needed to play a reclusive, slightly demented, yet endearing man like The Phantom. I was almost brought to tears by his rendition of Music of the Night. I am always thrilled by a musical which has beautiful costuming, and clever set changes. I was not disappointed this time. My only complaint would be that I need to see it a few more times to catch all that happens on the stage! Andrew Lloyd Webber - you rock!

5.0 star rating Chanalle from Seattle

WONDERFULY GREAT

This was one of my favorite plays. Just beautiful. I wish I could see it again. It truely brought my spirit up just to watch the phantom appear.

5.0 star rating Rose Willis from South Carolina

THE MUSICAL IS AWESOME!

I loved watching it. I was great. I met Howard and we talked. It was just fantastic. I met his dog, Teddy, as well. Great dog. Jennifer Hope Wills was a great Christine. I absolutely love it. This is my 7th time watching this musical in New York. Trust me, if I weren't counting where I am watching this musical. The number would be 20th time. Right now, I am in my hotel room writing this message since I am going to watch it tomorrow! I can't wait.

5.0 star rating Rose Willis from South Carolina

THE MUSICAL IS AWESOME!

I loved watching it. I was great. I met Howard and we talked. It was just fantastic. I met his dog, Teddy, as well. Great dog. Jennifer Hope Wills was a great Christine. I absolutely love it. This is my 7th time watching this musical in New York. Trust me, if I weren't counting where I am watching this musical. The number would be 20th time. Right now, I am in my hotel room writing this message since I am going to watch it tomorrow! I can't wait.

5.0 star rating Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555

SWEPT AWAY

I went to see it on 6/26 with my 17 year old daughter. Had great seats in row C slightly to the left of center. The music at moments grabs you and pulls you towards the stage. The costumes were exeptional as were the stage effects. There were several scenes where so much was going on (i.e., Masquerade) and there were so many fantastic costumes that you weren't sure where to look for fear of missing something. The Phantom's voice was powerful and his performance spectacular. Highly recommend it.

5.0 star rating Dusty Behr from New Albany,IN USA

PHANTOMLICIOUS

I love his mask and the makeup on his face. I like his hungover lip. I think Micheal Crawford and Gary Somebody was the best phantoms

5.0 star rating Rose Willis from South Carolina

WONDERFUL, SPLENDID MUSICAL

This musical is a must-see delight. From the shadows of the Dungeons to the bright glares of the stages; this musical has it all. Romance enchants, while darkness blends, and just in the middle of it, sadness flows, making this musical a great treat. It is a phenomenon. I promise you won't regret watching this from any parts of the audience because you can experience it's magic anywhere.

5.0 star rating Harry Pfarrer from Burn after reading

SUCH A WONDER HOW IT COULD NOT BE BETTER!

Really, I mean nowadays you would expect George Clooney's affairs, Brangelina's twins, and all of that mess, but if you look back to the 80's, that is a gold! Phantom of the Opera, a fantastic musical with a deformed, disfigured genius, whatever you's call it trying to lure a girl to his place. Well, what a classic love tale, no? Not quite. Well, the girls leaves him, leaving him emotionally scared forever, not that he already is, but a deeper scar. And it gets even more heartbreaking when the girl returns to give him her ring. Well, she leaves nothing behind except memories for the Phantom. He cries and is lost forever. Classic tale, right? Well, no matter what I said, it is just a sketchy outline, the real story is quite complicated and even more heartbreaking, a guy can only take so much. So all I can say is for you to work sweat n' hard for tickets and feel good. Enjoy! Bon Apetite at 21, too! That is a restaurant in New York, only 5 blocks away from The Majestic.

5.0 star rating Harry Pfarrer from Burn after reading

SUCH A WONDER HOW IT COULD NOT BE BETTER!

Really, I mean nowadays you would expect George Clooney's affairs, Brangelina's twins, and all of that mess, but if you look back to the 80's, that is a gold! Phantom of the Opera, a fantastic musical with a deformed, disfigured genius, whatever you's call it trying to lure a girl to his place. Well, what a classic love tale, no? Not quite. Well, the girls leaves him, leaving him emotionally scared forever, not that he already is, but a deeper scar. And it gets even more heartbreaking when the girl returns to give him her ring. Well, she leaves nothing behind except memories for the Phantom. He cries and is lost forever. Classic tale, right? Well, no matter what I said, it is just a sketchy outline, the real story is quite complicated and even more heartbreaking, a guy can only take so much. So all I can say is for you to work sweat n' hard for tickets and feel good. Enjoy! Bon Apetite at 21, too! That is a restaurant in New York, only 5 blocks away from The Majestic.

5.0 star rating Jillian from Toronto, Ontario

PHAN-TASTIC!

I have seen this musical several times, and each time I enjoy it more. I live in Toronto, and had the great fortune to see John Cudia star in the role of the Phantom in the touring production. He takes your breath away with his depth to the character. It was thrilling to see that he was performing the role, again, when I had the chance to see it in New York on Broadway. If you want to see any theatre production in New York and you're not so sure about theatre, make SURE you see Phantom! You will NOT regret it!

5.0 star rating Jillian from Toronto, Ontario

PHAN-TASTIC!

I have seen this musical several times, and each time I enjoy it more. I live in Toronto, and had the great fortune to see John Cudia star in the role of the Phantom in the touring production. He takes your breath away with his depth to the character. It was thrilling to see that he was performing the role, again, when I had the chance to see it in New York on Broadway. If you want to see any theatre production in New York and you're not so sure about theatre, make SURE you see Phantom! You will NOT regret it!

5.0 star rating Mike from USA

THE BEST SHOW THE WORLD WILL EVER KNOW!

The Phantom of the Opera is the ultimate Broadway musical. It has something for everyone. Love, some action/effects, a little scare, and AMAZING music! This is the show to see if you go to New York (or if the touring company comes your way.) This is the MUST-SEE musical. I reccomand it to anyone. If it still is around when I have kids, I'll definately take them! The stes, effects, costumes and music is awesome! It is such a powerful, moving and great musical.

5.0 star rating Michael McBarron from Aarhus, Denmark

EXCEPTIONAL FRIENDLINESS

I recently attended a Wednesday evening performance together with my 2 daughters (23 and 25) and son-in-law while we were on holiday from Denmark. Unfortunatelly, I'd got the dates mixed up and our tickets were for the Monday show. The staff could just have shrugged their shoulders, it was, after all, my fault. Instead they found some dining chairs and managed to squeeze us into fairly good places in a sold-out theatre. I'll be eternally grateful for the understanding and friendliness of the theatre staff in general, and manager in particular, in rescueing our evening and, in great part, our trip to New York. By the way, the show, by unanimous consent, was wonderful.

5.0 star rating Darlene Texas from Anytown, AT 55555

LOST MY CAMERA

lost in show tonight please turn in. Very important trip pics from New York. Darlene from Texas

5.0 star rating Mimzysmom from connecticut

MAGICAL BIRTHDAY FOR DAUGHTER

My husband and I took our 9 year old daughter to Phantom for her birthday. She loves the movie, and wanted to see it on Broadway. We bought orchestra seats in front of the upper mezzanine balcony, so she could see the chandelier drop. It was worth every penny. She had an amazing time. The staff was very pleasant. The bathrooms were clean, theater as well. The theater was beautiful. Only disappointment was we wanted to get a picture of our daughter at the end of the show with the stage in the background, after people had left. Staff insisted we leave the theater. New sound system was great, heard every song clearly. Would love to see again.

5.0 star rating Anonymous from Shrewsbury, MA USA

AMAZING

The musical was AMAZING. The singing was incredible, and the special effects were outstanding. I will never forget such a memorable experience. The only concern I have is the AIDS fundraiser campaign that occurs right after the show. While the purpose may be good, the phantom becoming a salesman ruins the atmosphere and mood the musical produced. Put signs in the hallway or something, but don't have the phantom suddenly start talking and selling stuff on the stage Other than that, the performance was astounding. The theater was superb. Everything turned the experience into one that I will never forget.

5.0 star rating Gale from Atlanta, GA

EVERYTHING AND MORE

I was a chaperone for a high school choral group and Phantom was the musical my chaperone group went to see. The musical was everything we had expected and more. The group was in awe of such a magical performance. The seating was wonderful. I didn't think there was a bad seat in the house. I would definitely take my mother and anyone else to the musical. There is a great pizza type restaurant across the street that used to be a church of somesort. Phantom was phenomenal!

5.0 star rating 726 from Ky

WILL BE SEEING OUR 7 AND 8 SHOW THIS AUGUST

Every show has been fantastic and wonderful. We could watch the Phantom every week. In August we will see our 6-7 show and some in my group have seen it 10 times. I never get tired of seeing the show. Where else can you see a wonderful show, then see the lights of Broadway.

5.0 star rating Angie Ashby from Helena, MT

MOVED ME TO MY CORE

I am 39 years old and have always wanted to see Phantom on Broadway. My dream came true on Oct 15th 2010. I attended with one of my girlfriends and we had wonderful seats in the front mezzanine. The view was so perfect, I felt the play was performed just for me. The music and actors were phenomenal. By the end of the play I was almost moved to tears. Dream come true!

5.0 star rating Alexandra Munro from Scotland

THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

I chose to see this show because I loved the film and also because the story is really interesting. I saw the show the 28th September at 8pm. The Orchestra and cast were totally amazing as were the settings and costumes. I really enjoyed the whole show and would defnitely see it again.

5.0 star rating Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555

PHANTOM LIVES ON

I finally got to see Phantom of the Opera live on Broadway on my birthday and it was by far the best part of my day. The actors were great, especially Jennifer Hope Wills. Her singing gave me goosebumps. And John Cudia as the Phantom was very powerful and brought me to tears a few times throughout the show. The friend who took me has seen the show a dozen times and she said this was the best performance she'd seen yet. In addition to the great cast, the orchestra was wonderful and the sets were absolutely beautiful.

5.0 star rating Michael from West Chester, PA

A TRUE FEAT OF BROADWAY

Wow. Nothing I say can ever make up for the show. It is AMAZING! If you're a Broadway fan you HAVE to see it. I saw it twice, once in Philly in 2006 (As my fisrt show) then this past October (2009) in NYC with school. The sets, effects, costumes, story, music...everything is the best. I look back on it and I get chills when I think of the Overture and the Boat Scene. It's great for the family. The only scary part is 2 seconds long. Also, near the theatre is The Hard Rock Cafe (which is where we ate with school) SEE IT!

5.0 star rating Claire from New York, USA

ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE.

After the performance, everyone in the group was speecheless. Everything was...to say the least, incredible. Everything from the singing, dancing and acting was flawless. You could tell all the actors and actresses really had a deep personal connection with all of their roles. Anyone reading this I would reccomend and suggest this beautiful musical 100% Thank you, Jennifer Hope Willis, and John Cudia, for making yesterday MAGICAL. :)

5.0 star rating Leah from Virginia

THE BEST SHOW ON BROADWAY

I read the book, saw the movie, seen the play 3 times... and on my way to see it the fourth time... I never get tired of it... I always cry at the end... I love it so much! Its my birthday present from my parents... LOVE IT! RECOMMEND IT FOR EVERYONE! Phenomenal! Breath-taking!

5.0 star rating Kiani from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

COMPLETLY ASTOUNDED !

I am 15 years old and went to see the Phantom of the Opera as a late Christmas gift and could not wait to see it live after falling in love with the movie and book. When I went, I sat in the orchestra section and the view was spectacular. My mother went with me to see it and had no idea of anything having to do with the Phantom and she loved it. I cannot express how much of a state of awe I was in the entire show, especially the ending. I wanted to practically cry because it was over even though I knew it was coming. I bought various items of nice merchandise and recommend it to everyone! I am attempting to persuade my mother into seeing it again, this time with my brother and step-father!

5.0 star rating Jason Farish from Charlottesville, Virginia

SHOW AND THEATRE WERE INCREDIBLE

My wife and I attended Phantom for my 1st ever show and I have to say both the show and the theatre/its staff were amazing. We missed the 2pm showing because of a snarl at the Lincoln Tunnel (2 hours to go 7 miles)and they graciously allowed us to attend the 8pm show and our seats were actually better.

5.0 star rating Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555

OUTSTANDING

My husband and I saw Phantom in May and I have to say I was completley blown away by the performance. The actors were amazing and the singing was first class. My only gripe was the guy sat behind me eating sweets all the way through! Please ban crisps and sweets!!! I would highly recommend going to see it if you are in New York. Our seats were great as well, M10 and M12, great unobstructed views. Totally made my trip

5.0 star rating Nigel from Newport Beach

HIGHLIGHT OF MY NYC EXPERIENCE!

The show tonight at the Majestic was absolutely AMAZING!!! It completed my trip on day 2 out of the 5 that I'll be here! From the cast to the sets to the orchestra and lighting everything was excellent! I definitely love this play and always have since i saw it with Brightman and Crawford when i was a kid... i would recommend this play to everyone!

5.0 star rating Meike from Frankfurt, Germany

AMAZING!!!!!

I saw the show on july 23rd. it's a fantastic show and i love john cudia!!!!!!

5.0 star rating Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555

ALL TIME FAVORITE

Simply the best.

5.0 star rating Emily from Riverton, NJ USA

MY DREAM CAME TRUE

In november i went to see the show with my mom and dad. my life changed. i'd been waiting for six years to see this and it finally happened and i wasn't one bit disappointed. Brilliant. <333

5.0 star rating Johanna from Miami, FL

ASTOUNDING

I saw POTO this past May and fell in love with the musical. Amazing costumes, cast, sets, it was better than what i imagined. I especially loved the Masquerade scene.

5.0 star rating Anonimous from Panama City, Panamà

EXTRAORDINAY

No doubt a great experience. One of the most memorable moments in spectacle.

5.0 star rating Zack F from Slatington, PA USA

STILL A MUST SEE FOR ANYONE IN NYC

Went to see the show on 9-3-2010: Had seats towards the rear of the orchestra section, center stage. The plot was amazing. The cast was high energy, the special effects were outstanding, and the sound system was clear and crisp. John Cudia as Phantom and Jennifer Hope Wills as Christine had an awesome chemistry. It is incredible to me that the entire cast manages to keep the show so fresh and vital even after the many shows that they have performed. IMHO, the Phantom is still a Must See for anyone looking for a premium theater experience. Highly Recommended.

5.0 star rating Alexandria from Birmingham

AMAZING

this is amazing !!!!! Im 13 and i loved loved loved it! Not only was this play amazing but it was even better being in New York ! i would go again anytime ! im telling everyone i know to attend this awesome preformance ! 5 stars for sure!

5.0 star rating Kate from USA

DON'T MISS IT!

The most amazing show ever!!!

What you thought

Seen Phantom Of The Opera? Loved it? Hated it?

Help your fellow Minneapolis Theater visitors by leaving the first review. Everyone will love you for it, we promise!

Write a review now

Nearby

Venue home

Venue home

location

Location

hotels

Hotels

Additional Information

seating chart
SeatingSeating map

Spread the word

Sound good to you? Share this page on social media and let your friends know about Phantom Of The Opera at Orpheum Theater.

Get the T-shirt

Official Phantom Of The Opera broadway souvenir merchandise

Please note: The term Orpheum Theater and/or Phantom Of The Opera as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other trademarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Orpheum Theater and/or Phantom Of The Opera and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Orpheum Theater and/or Phantom Of The Opera and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.